top of page
Search

A light...

This blog is supposed to be a documentation of my journey into becoming a writer. A record of the highs and pitfalls that I have experienced as I work on style, content, theme, etc. I have discussed writing through lockdown, and the epiphanies that occur when one truly applies what you have learned; I have talked about ‘reading as a writer’. Of late my posts have addressed my medical issues, and the related obstacles that have been presented to my writing. But, there is a light at the end of the tunnel.


There’s a light at the end of the tunnel;

a small one,

but it’s there.

It’s beckoning me.

A soft, warm, candle kind of light.

A campfire kind of light.

The kind where you sit with your knees tucked under

and melt marshmallows on sticks,

and laugh, and smile, and

it is

quite

far

away .

Surrounded by cold darkness:

an abyss of ignorance.

It threatens to extinguish

that small ray of hope;

the campfire dims and cools.

I close my eyes.

There is nothing.

Then...

flames flicker against my eyelids;

a cosy, orange glow.

Warmth spreads from all around; gloom lightens.

I am not alone.

I am not without light

Without heat

Without hope

There’s a light at the end of the tunnel.






23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page