top of page
Search

How do people relax?

It is a genuine question – I would be very interested to hear what other people do to relax, but also how do you make yourself relax?


I find it very difficult to switch off – as many Neuro-spicy people do. Even when carrying out a ‘relaxing’ activity my mind is still active, or I get bored with the activity very quickly. In order to concentrate on a whole film, I generally need something else to do –

cross stitch or knitting



I find knitting is better as I don’t have to look down as much. I also play games on my phone. This was a bone of contention with Mr W for a while, if we sat down to watch something together and I got my phone out he would get frustrated with me as it felt less like time spent together, but he has become more understanding as time has passed.

Not only do I need an additional outlet for my attention, I also find that it is hard for me to stop thinking about other issues (usually work) if I don’t have several other draws on my attention. I can at times read a book while watching a film, although if I get too engrossed in the book it annoys Mr W to ask about the plot (which I totally get).


This meme (courtesy of Puppypup7 on reddit (https://www.reddit.com/r/memes/comments/aatp1x/watching_tv_for_teens/) almost sums up how my brain seems to need to work (or not work), apart from the bit about making memes – I have only ever made one meme and it wasn’t clever or funny, and no one was particularly impressed with it.


All this aside, when I am not watching anything on the television I struggle with other forms of relaxation – I feel it has to be a multi-sensory approach to actually relax: walking to the shop is a task best accompanied by music or an audio book; I can’t sit at a pub table and just enjoy the view; I need to chat / do a crossword or some other distraction.


I have tried meditation; going for walks in the country, chilling out at a country pub garden – as mentioned, I can’t simply sit and soak it in (most of the time), so I would really like to know – how do you all do it? How does one shut their mind off and get it to ‘relax’?


On the rare occasion that I manage a day of ‘doing nothing’ I end up feeling worse than I did before I started. Quiet is a concept my mind cannot process and one I struggle with – an odd concept for a primary school teacher whose days are a patchwork quilt of sensory overload. You would think that I would bask in the blessed silence at the end of the day, and I suppose I do – for about 5 minutes – then I need input. Not sure if it is the neuro-spicy or the effect of growing up in a large family (one of 5 siblings growing up).


I know other people experience this phenomenon - else there wouldn't be memes of it, so I would be interested if it exists in my readers? I would really love to know - what activities do you do to relax (do any entirely capture your attention?) and if you are not 'doing' an activity, what methods do you use to switch off and relax?

Please comment below - I'd love a bank of strategies!


22 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page