top of page
Search

Learning that you've learned

There is a special kind of joy that comes when you realise that you have learned something. Beyond the instant ‘I get it!’ sensation; a deeper warmth that speaks of understanding and growth. The learning that I have undertaken on my course has really crept up on me, and while I am still not where I would like to be (when it comes to looking critically at works at least) I can really see the difference between where I am now and where I was even six months ago, let alone at the start of the course 18 months ago.

I always had a cursory understanding of literary techniques but have always read the surface of the stories and books. To read now – as a writer – has pros and cons. In one sense, it is a real pleasure to read excellent books and finally understand why they are excellent – to see why an author has made a choice with a particular technique – and file those approaches away to play with in my own writing. On the other hand, I used to get a lot of enjoyment / relaxation from reading ‘easy’ books; simple plots, engaging characters, no real subtext. I find it harder to enjoy those stories now, because I see elements that could have been done so differently. I also tend to pick up on the telegraphing of ideas much sooner, making my predictions early on, and – in some of these books at least – I don’t get to be surprised any more.

Ultimately, I am pleased with my acquisition of these skills, but I might have to find a new way to mindlessly relax!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page