top of page
Search

The best bits

I’ve written a lot about the challenges that come from being a writer; time management, disappointing feedback, seeing the big picture, inspiration and motivation – the list is endless. But it is equally important to reflect on the best parts of being a writer.


I did write, earlier in the year, about rewards and the intrinsic / extrinsic aspect of these, and that is definitely one good ‘bit’ of being a writer. I mentioned a few posts ago that I was proud of the work I produced for my MA, and during NaNo – the latter, mainly due to completing my commitment and managing my time so that I could do so (as mentioned in that post, it remains to be seen whether what I have produced is any good).


It goes without saying that success in a competition or a submission is rewarding; people without a vested interest have read my work and think it worthy of sharing or of some kind of accolade. It is just the same as getting that achievement certificate or gold star when at school. A metaphorical pat on the head that I really shouldn’t need at my age. **


Every now and again, I get to hear from someone who has read my work and enjoyed it – that is always a treat! To know that my writing has given someone some enjoyment is the best kind of reward. While I was studying, it was important to me to know what my tutor thought about my work, but I can’t deny the thrill I get when someone I know, and respect, likes my stories.


What I really get from my writing is somewhere else to be. When life is hard, I can go into one of my stories and be somewhere totally different; whether it is taking my characters across their zombie strewn landscape, or hunting vampires with some others, or even venturing into some futuristic location, I can revel in the exploration that affords me. I enjoy finding out how those characters react to those challenges, and what happens to them. I enjoy exploring those new worlds with them; being filled with their wonder as they encounter new and unimagined places; or getting to know new people that restore their faith.


**Find links to my published work here...

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page