top of page
Search

Why is Autumn the best season?

If I had to choose, I think Autumn would be my favourite season – there are quite a few things that I love about autumn.

Firstly, and possibly most important, are the colours – in nature Autumn is a glorious sunset – I love seeing the changes on my drive to and from work in the morning and evening. There is one road in particular (on my route) which is lined on both sides by trees and the display between September and November is a beautiful sight.

When I have the time to go out for a walk, I revel in the crisp chill of the air, the autumn freshness with a hint of smoke and the crunch underfoot of leaves and twigs. It really is all- senses experience that I adore.

I love the meals we get in autumn – warming root vegetable soups and one-pot meals; flavoursome and rich stews, curry and chilli (Mr W’s specialty). And of course, a tasty and warm dessert with custard (crumble, pie, sticky puddings)

I am a big fan of a scarf – I have many of them, and I like to pair them with my outfit. I seem to remember there being some form of pairing a person’s colouring to their ‘season’ for clothing colour and if this is still a trend then I believe I am an ‘Autumn’. I love warm chocolatey browns, soft grey, maroon, dark greens and camel browns – I’ve never quiet got into the ‘mustard’ trend that I’ve noticed, it seems a little bright for me and clothing wise (once the Hawaiian shirts are away) I’m far more inclined to choose clothes that help me fade into the background. I also love the layering, leggings and fluffy lined boots that tend to come in these colours.

The dashing winter coat and thick scarf look (when I am feeling masc) is also a look I am fond of.


It is great when the evenings start to draw in and the cosy feeling that comes with settling in for the evening with warm lighting candles or (if you’re lucky enough to have one) an open fire – it is the one thing I truly miss about our old home, maybe we’ll manage a fire pit this autumn / winter – lacking an open fire, I may have to content myself with warm fragranced candles; my favourites are the winter berry spiced ones.

I couldn’t write an autumn themed post without mentioning Halloween. A fan of fancy dress, I enjoy seeing how people decorate their homes, I enjoy the influx of Halloween themed viewing (an unashamed Strictly fan, one of my favourite episodes is the Halloween show), special episodes of favourite shows as well as movies and such. The thrill of the spooky reading session or movie watch is something I look forward to every year.

Of course, the other great thing about autumn is that it heralds winter (another great season), there is – I always feel – an air of anticipation about autumn. To me, Autumn is the start of the festive season (in its true term rather than its more modern association with Christmas and NYE alone) after all, Halloween and Bonfire night are both ‘festivals’. The end of October to the beginning of January just feels magical to me – warm magic, spooky magic and special magic.

So, I am feeling very happy in our little bungalow and looking forward to an autumn and winter of cosy evenings in with Mr W, enjoying our autumnal food (of which I will try to cook more, I promise!), our time together and our firepit (which I am sure we will build / assemble at some point).

I am also looking forward to a few weekend and half term trips in ‘Penny’ (the campervan).

More of which I will be writing about in

the future – on here and as a feature / guest writer on a friend’s website. Wait for news on that in November!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page