top of page
Search

Writing again


I have finally managed to get back to it.

Thanks to an email from an ex-student friend, giving me a bit of purpose, and seeing a friend bring herself back into her passion. Both gave these the much-needed kick up the backside; of course, it helps

that it is the summer holidays and I have a little time that doesn’t feel like taking away from family time, or wearing myself out when I have to work.

I have submitted a couple of older pieces and am in talks about submitting another; I have joined a writing group, and I have managed to write something new – albeit based on a piece I wrote ages ago which was technically accepted but never saw publication and the ezine has since vanished – I am not convinced I am fully back, but I’ve done some bits and pieces and it is making me feel a little more normal.

I have also been making changes to my sleeping pattern and other aspects of my physical health, which have perhaps contributed to this change of mental health – I feel more engaged and motivated, and while the ideas are not flowing as thick and fast as they used to, and I do still have the mood dampener of impending rejection, I am feeling generally more positive.


I am starting the blogging again this with this unscheduled blog post, and I have two more in mind that I may be able to work on and get myself a little ahead of the game. Some early advice I was given when beginning this blog was to do with consistency, making sure to post regularly and reliably, that should encourage repeat visitors. Of course, life always has other ideas doesn’t it.


I am beginning to feel like I might be able to see a way forward.


What I can’t do is offer advice on how to get unblocked – I don’t feel like my writer’s block was anything other than fatigue (in general, not writing fatigue), poor health and submission disappointment. What I needed was the energy, the motivation and a reason to write.

35 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page