top of page
Search

Writing and feeling rusty

I decided this morning that I need to get writing again: properly. Last week I talked about getting to the desk to see what I can do, and since then I have managed very little, but today I feel like I need to get on it. So after a short procrastinating browse of some of my writing groups and fora, I opened to WIP and I got to it. A quick skim of the chapters so far and some memory prompting notes, and I dove in on a chapter I had begun but not finished. It has been very much a ‘words on the page’ dump, and I managed to get 1000 words down. It remains to be seen whether any of it is any good, or if it is just waffle filling.

A few weeks ago, I was in two minds about how to pick up this work, and it seems I have decided – get it finished before completing a read through. I had to go back and check some while writing today and other than removing a few adverbs, I managed to do that without being draw into more serious editing.

When I first started, I was so excited by the plot that I was able to get a lot down each time I sat down to writing, and I am hoping to get back into that level of engagement with it. I want to keep that level of excitement for the story, as I always feel that writing comes easier when the story is still exciting you as a writer. Also, it will be much easier to edit once I have a complete story – and keep track of what I have worked on – than to edit a bit at a time and never be sure that I have given a chapter the attention it needs.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page